Bangerang Shrimp Marinade

You like scrimp? You like tacos? Then you’ve come to the right place.

Here is a recipe for bangerang grilled shrimp skewers (which you can then make into delicious fiery tacos or canoodling shrimp and noodles or whatever pleases your palet!) … I just ate this tonight and I’m STILL excited to spread the marinade love to you…

H’ok. So. Grab yourself a pound (1) of jumbo shrimp from the grocery store. You can use the small ones but I prefer those big suckers. If you can get them already de-veined with the shell cracked open, that’s the best kind. They did the hard part for you. There is nothing more tedious than removing the poop tracks out of shrimp.

This marinade recipe is for one pound, but obviously you can double it or half it or whatevs.

It is mostly based off of this recipe, which has been given a 5 star review by 1,721 people. So uh, DUH it’s good.

Bangerang Grilled Shrimp Marinade

1 tbsp minced garlic

2 tbsp + 2 tsp olive oil

1 tbsp red wine vinegar

2 tbsp pasta sauce (I used Safeway Organic Tomato Basil pasta sauce)

(and to all you skeptics that think this sounds weird — I’m right there with you. Pasta sauce? In a shrimp marinade? Have you lost your marbles? But after making them, I profess allegiance to the pasta sauce. it compliments the grilled flavor by some miracle mixture of tomatoes, garlic and sweet sweet smokey barbecue notes)

1 tbsp chopped fresh basil (or, you know, a little handful)

1/4 tsp salt (I omitted this because Ori dislikes salt. He cray. Or maybe I’m cray for adding it to every.thing.)

1/8 tsp cayenne pepper (or just a few good dashes. I sort of get all Rachel Ray about small measurements)

1 tsp sriracha sauce (or a good squeezy squeeze)

Mix all that crap together in a bow and add your de-veined, peeled and washed shrimp. Marinate for 30 minutes to an hour. You can even marinate longer, although I did it for only 30 minutes and it turned out beautifully flavored!

Be sure to tinker with your garlic amount, too. I truthfully could eat garlic until it bled out of my pores, so I added more than the recipe calls for, but just do a clove or two if you want to play it safe! Or if you’re a vampire or something. You big weird.

Also if you’re using wooden skewers, be sure to soak them in water for 30 minutes before grilling. We used metal ones.

Cooking shrimp on the barbee is pretty much a guessing game for me. I’d say we left them on for 5 minutes max, with a medium low heat. Basically, as soon as you see red across the entire scrimpy, kick that flame up a little bit (to get that cancerous charring effect that we all have come to know and love) for just a minute, and then take them off. Ours turned out warm and fully cooked, without the texture of a rubber band or over-cooked calamari. Hooray!

If you don’t have pasta sauce, you can use ketchup as a stand in. I’m sure the sweetness will go well with the spice of the sriracha!

We made shrimp tacos tonight, but these grilled morsels could go well over pasta if you’re looking for a carb upgrade. We used warmed flour tortillas, diced white onion, fresh cherry tomatoes from my back yard garden, sliced avocado, shredded cheese, lime wedges and a chipotle-like sour cream sauce (which is roughly a big scoop of sour cream, a small spoonful of mayo, lime juice, paprika, garlic powder, chili powder and/or whatever shit you’ve got in your spice cabinet). The only thing missing was cilantro. But  hey, when you live 20 minutes from the grocery store, you learn to deal.

We had black beans and grilled zucchini as our sides.

My apologies for not snapping a picture. I was too busy being swept away to the land of fatty heaven (which is where I like to spend most of my time, dreaming and drooling over delicious foods such as fresh homemade apple pie, bulgogi, spicy fried chicken and other various weight betraying concoctions) and I forgot to get proof of said dinner until there was none left. They went pretty fast.

I hope you try this marinade! It’s easy peasy and perfect for sunset summer evenings.

