Things, things and more things

Dearest friends and loved ones,

Oh, I am so happy. So happy about a lot of things happening in life right now. I’m actually happy, that’s pretty incredible.

As you may or may not know, my step-mom Elizabeth is pregnant. She has had tremendous trouble getting pregnant over the past year, and with the help of fertility drugs, we were blessed with news about 18 weeks ago that she has a bun in the over. My dad called today to inform me that, come January 24th (the day before my dad’s birthday), I will have a little brother named Ward! (Short for Edward, my father’s middle name, and coincidentally the team I am rooting for in Twilight. Okay, not really.)

I can’t express to you how fortunate I feel to have the opportunity to be a big sister. I missed out on so many sibling experiences, but with my coming of age and the clearer outlook on life that I’m starting to have, it seems like a wonderful time for the expansion of our family and the expansion of my heart to a baby brother. (I may have moved across the country, but I’m still really corny.)

Little brother, I can’t wait to meet you. I can’t wait to look into your eyes and see parts of me. You will never be alone, because you will always have my unconditional love and support. I will help you be happy in any way that I can, I will keep you level in this crazy world, and I will be a constant reminder that life is in fact so incredible, and that family is most important. I love you already, so very much.

In other news, I’ve picked up the guitar. Since not even a week ago, I have learned how to play three full songs and sing them all the way through. They are still rough versions and I need to fine tune (literally) the tempo and strumming pattern. I also bought a Ukulele last week and it should be arriving in the mail tomorrow. Check out the youtube channel from this adorable little Parisian girl that plays cover songs on the Uke — “chipswow” is her username. She inspired me to get one! Hello Lanikai LU-21 standard soprano Ukulele, I can’t wait to play you.

My finger tips have started to harden (I literally played for hours the first day I got a guitar, until they were raw) and I feel really motivated to play every day. I’m not one to keep up hobbies on a constant basis — but perhaps I hadn’t found the right one until now. I love playing right before bed. It gives me good dreams.

Our garden is flourishing with veggies and fruits, so much so that I can’t keep up with them! Even between selling zucchini and tomatoes to Mountain High (the coffee/book store that I work at), unloading a bunch of cherry tomatoes in Aaron’s hands (a co-worker that eats them like candy), we still have vegetables sitting all around the house. Zucchini, patty pan squash, cherry tomatoes, big fat tomatoes (forgive me for not knowing the kind… they’re just big, and fat, and red and juicy), jalapeños, Italian frying peppers, green bell peppers, pear tomatoes (little yellow pear-shaped sweeties), basil, pumpkins and the most amazing watermelon I have ever had. We finally picked a big one the other day — there’s nothing more rewarding than sinking your teeth into a just-picked watermelon. Tastes like candy.

I spent the better part of yesterday afternoon picking wild blackberries down the street. I picked probably around 5 lbs worth. I don’t know if you have ever had the chance to pick blackberries, but they are incredibly hard to get. They are covered in thorny, spiny fur. My hands were mangled. We flash-froze them, and now they’re just hanging out in the freezer until I can figure out what to do with them. In the long run, I’d like to make jam, but shit, have you seen the process? Sanitizing this, boiling that, jell this, cool that…whatever. We’ll see if I get around to it. If I do, I’ll send some to you, just ask!

I went to an open mic night at this coffee shop in Lakeport the other night. Ran into a guy that gets coffee at my shop. We started chatting, and it turns out he runs his own paper called The Lake County Manifest. He has no journalism education or experience aside from this fledgling paper. I told him about my dabbling in print journalism at VCU and he wants me to start writing for the paper. Like now. I’m going to be a point-of-contact for press releases and meetings in town. I get to go to the courthouse one or twice a week. (and probably cover something extremely boring!) They also need a copy editor, which is definitely my forte. The newspaper is currently online if you’re interested:

http://www.lakecountymanifest.com

Every day is amazing. I’m starting to realize that I really, really needed this move. I should have done this a long time ago. But then again, if things hadn’t happened the way that they did, would I have ever possessed the gumption that I do now?

I will be visiting Richmond from October 28th to November 4th!!!!!!Keep the PBR cold and save a couch for me.

Love to all,

Roren

A feel good song, for any day that you may have.

