CA

I first wanted to share with you a quote from Emerson that encapsulates the driving force behind my choice to move to California:

“A political victory, a rise in rents, the recovery of your sick, or return of your absent friend, or some other quite external event, raises your spirits, and you think good days are preparing for you. Do not believe it. Nothing can bring you peace but yourself. Nothing can bring you peace but the triumph of principles.”

Oh, thought-provoking Emerson quotes … I eat you up.

So hello friends! I’m sorry it has taken me so long to update. A lot has happened. So, homegirl got a job! I’m now employed at Mountain High Coffee and Books. It’s quaint, delicious, and just what I wanted. We serve the typical lattes, fappes, syrupy drinks, smoothies, and home-made by yours truly breads, cakes and cookies. Some of our breads include: Pineapple Carrot Raisin, Zucchini, Banana Walnut, Banana with chocolate chips, Pumpkin cake with cream cheese icing, coconut bars, blueberry bread, buttermilk apple bread, ghiradelli chocolate brownies, and some other fattening sweets I’m forgetting.

I do a lot of chatting with locals and out of towners alike. Most people are here because there’s a pot dispensery down the street. You make an appointment at MJ’s (clever, isn’t it?) and wait for 5 hours. Then you pay a doctor $250 and tell him you have “back problems” or “menstrual cramps” and voila! You’re a proud owner of a flimsy piece of paper that allows you to grow 25 female plants per year. So a lot of people who are waiting tend to trickle into the coffee shop and bide their time getting temporarily jacked up on an alternative fix. Everyone is super nice in this town. Some people have lived their whole lives here and seem a bit on the sheltered side, but the people I work with are fantastic.

The great thing about where I work is that I own part of the company. Everyone who works there does. We’re such a small company that the owners treat us very well. Well I’ll be damned. Nothing is set in stone either, so if I have a suggestion or two on how to increase production, flow, or a recipe, they are all ears.

A lot of the produce is delivered to us (I don’t know the name of the company, but I’m sure it’s a small scale Cysco type) but my co-worker and I have been talking recently of incorporating locally grown ingredients into our products. I, for one, have a ton of zucchini, and will have a ton of various tomatoes in a few weeks. He expressed interest in buying veggies from my garden! It feels great to contribute. I can’t wait to see what else I can give. I did, after all, get a job within 2 weeks of being in California, in a town where the unemployment rate is 18.5%. Gotta give thanks to them!

Let’s see, what else is new. I mowed the lawn. A few acres. We’ve been riding the horses this week, so they get used to being ridden. Very soon now, I’ll be able to take them out into the back field and run them. I also am plotting a deal with the lady next door. She and I were chatting at a local farmer’s pot luck last week, and she is very interested in taking some poop off of my hands. Horse poop, that is. It makes great compost, so I told her I’d scoop it up and deliver it to her. My mom then told me later that night that the neighbor I was talking to has chickens, so I’m going to see if I can trade some poop for some eggs. One thing that comes out of the ass for another. Fresh eggs are delicious, by the way. They’re much creamier.

Got my library card last week. Checked out a self-help book, only to realize it gives you specific instructions on what to eat. And they ask that you cut out ALL SUGAR. So, that book is now growing dust by my bed. They have diddly squat for books on space and galaxies. 😦

I’m getting into origami again. I love it. I made some tulips and lilies the other day, poked a hole in the bottom, and put a sprig of fresh lavender in the center. I’ll paint the paper flower to look more realistic. My mom says I should try to sell them at local farmer’s markets and craft fairs. I think I might be onto something. People in small towns love to waste money on crap like that.

There’s a humming bird that lives in a tree right by the front porch. He sits on the same branch every day and guards the humming bird feeders as if it were his land. He bitches at all the other birds and nose-dives into other birds. I have named him Sherman.

I am doing well, I’m very happy still, and Audrey is keeping me company. We spend nights drinking Racer 5 and shooting the shit, sitting in our rocking chairs on the front porch, almost disbelieving where we live sometimes.

I have to be at work at 7am tomorrow morning, at the other Mountain High location about 45 minutes away. So I’ll write later!

Love to you all,

Roren

